Squid Fishing

Tips Up

There is a bit of conversation in some fishing reports about squid fishing or squid spawn and my kid really wants to go target some squid so I thought I would start a thread. I don't know much about it but keen to give it a go.
Any info of where, when and how is appreciated. I'm good to fish from dock or boat. just need to figure out they rest.
I'd like to find them in Sooke, Sidney or Brentwood ideally. But I do make it to Bamfield and Renfrew a couple of times a year also.

Thanks!

Opal squid are fun to catch! I've had some luck using those glow-in-the-dark jigs, but I'm no expert. Maybe try asking at local bait shops for more specific advice?

. If you have a boat people have caught them out of Sooke but last report was from years ago and the guy who was telling me was on a friends boat.

Bamfield they are around the corner in pachena and K... Bay. Ukee government dock. Reports are a week or two old and its killing me, I'm working on my boat trailer and would love to go this weekend if there were still reports. How olds your son, mines 7 and daughters 4, maybe we could hook up for squid 🦑 mission!

So you could make the run from Renfrew on a nice day to pachena Bay. Also check out Brendan moorisons YouTube video in Tofino.

Thanks for replies. I bought some jigs to have handy. I don't think the how is too hard. Starting to figure out some wheres. Still dialing in the when. I fish Bamfield a couple of times a year but seem to miss the opportunities. Ukee seems to be the spot right now but a long way to go for squid. We caught some lings in Saanich in earlier this year that were spitting up squid so have noted that but had no jigs on board. I'll keep logging the details and hope to put it together as the dots line up.