Downrigger Rods - What are you running?

Sushihunter

I've been running Shimano TDR's for many years. They are cheap, they stand up to most normal wear and tear.

Lately, I've been looking for something better. I want something that is light and will absorb lots of shock when the fish wants to run and the fisherman wants to hold him tight. Give me that extra second to rip his fingers off the reel. [}:)]

I like a 9' or even a 9-1/2' rod.

I picked up a couple of 9' Berkley Lightning rods at a boxing day sale. I have not had a chance to use them yet, but I'll let you all know what I think once I do get them wet.

Has anyone here used the Shakespear UglyStik? What do you think of them? I have heard that the one model I was looking at has problems with breaking - anyone experience that?

Thanks...

I have a shimano 10'6 convergence. I am very happy with it. I had a lightning rod before which a seal snapped in half. Thats a long story though. I like fenwick but their a bit pricier!! Ive had an ugly stick for a long time as well and had no complaints about it, except i think its a bit flimsy, but damn strong!!!! Hope that helps somewhat

I use OKUMA 9' 12-25lb paired with OKUMA CV45D line counter reels and Fenwick HMX series paired with ABU GARCIA 7000 series reels. I am not a guide but just a red neck Albertan who likes to fish the coast as much as possible but these have worked good for me!!!

Once again..there are allot of guys on here who guide as a living so they would know allot more than me about gear, but I have just recently started to use these combos and they work really good for me...

Kris

Shakespear UglyStik; uh got one a month ago. works great! but the biggest salmon i got in the last month was 11Lbs, the shakespear rod had great action and a lot of flex.(it has a counter on the real) it comes with a 3 year replacement warranty on the rod and a one year on the real. i got mine at canadian tire for $99.99