Continue with Dry stack or switch to conventional slip

67greengt

Good morning all SBC family,

I’m currently drystacked at Milltown Marina and love the location but have had a couple not so favourable experiences lately. I’m new to the boating world and so I wanted to reach out to those more experienced and see what your thoughts are, should I stay in drystack or switch it up?

They forgot to launch my boat one night and because they close at 5 or 6 you can’t get a hold of anyone to try and inquire further. They have been delayed quite a bit on the notification of my boat being launched and since the forgetting to launch day I’m always not sure if they actually launched it or not. Again they close early so you can’t get a hold of anyone if you’ve requested a launch and don’t get a confirmation. We live in maple ridge so it’s a long drive out at 5am if the boat isn’t launched and they don’t put the first one in until 845.

Because they don’t work very long days the valet dock has been getting packed and thus they start to raft boats together. I understand this is a normal practice but not sure how much I like other people walking through my boat to get to theirs. Also when tide goes low and they raft it makes it very tricky to get in and out..

Due to the size of our boat they always want us to pull right down closest to the lift and there isn’t always water handy to wash the boat depending on where we land

The boat was also damaged once during the lifting process and although they went good to fix a trim sensor I worry each time as ours is the biggest they can lift.

I’ve addressed the concerns with the marina a couple times but don’t see a whole lot of change

Other than bottom paint more often, anything else to consider when going to a conventional slip? I like the idea of having water and power right there for cleanups or battery charging.

Thanks for your help in advance
Tom
Onefishthufish

Attachments

• B3AB8020-2A7A-4125-8A26-DA7C0C467B4E.jpeg