Barkley Sound Small Springs

I’ve been fishing in Barkley Sound for over 30 yrs. This yr there seemed to be a huge amount of 8-12 lb mature springs (males). My friends and I have caught plenty of fish, but none over 30 lbs. what’s even more concerning is that we caught very few over 20 lbs. the numbers of fish seem to be strong, but the size is not there. What are your thoughts on why?

I have a theory, all the fish I caught in bamfield this year were filled with small bait. Sandlance and small bait fish. In 2020 they were filled with squids and anchovies. I think there were to many sandlance around, easy pickings. However Im probably wrong. We noticed the smaller size as well. The Fraser fish seem to be big this year.

Herring fishery is a gong show. Caught so many last year they were dumping fish they couldnt sell.

Herring fishery is a gong show. Caught so many last year they were dumping fish they couldnt sell.
I have seen the commercial Herring Fishermen dump herring because they were too small, immature, for saleable Roe. NEVER because they couldn't sell the Roe.

What you're describing was certainly the case off Nanaimo this year as well. We had a slot limit of 80 cm for most of the year, but it really didn't matter. I only had to throw back one fish. A guide friend of mine landed almost 150 salmon over 62 cm and only 3 were overs. Hard to say about the feed, but any fishery with a minimum size is targeting bigger fish and taking them out of the system. I know river fishers are often allowed (and encouraged) retain jacks, but we've got to let them go, so they breed more consistently than any other strain.

I’ve been fishing in Barkley Sound for over 30 yrs. This yr there seemed to be a huge amount of 8-12 lb mature springs (males). My friends and I have caught plenty of fish, but none over 30 lbs. what’s even more concerning is that we caught very few over 20 lbs. the numbers of fish seem to be strong, but the size is not there. What are your thoughts on why?