Queen Charlotte Info

Little Red Man

Hi All...Making a trip to the QCI's at the beginning of July. Any info on where to fish, what to fish, boating info, where to buy charts and maps would be MOST appreciated. I am a newbie Saltwater fisher from the Alberta Rockies, so any help would be great!

Regards,

Roger

It's a poor idea to start learning about the Ocean in a wild remote place like QCI.
I suggest you do a few guided trips somewhere first before venturing out on your own.
If not make sure your life insurance is paid up before you go!

that's why there's a warranty!

Rod Breaker has some good advice for ya. Go on a couple of charters, and get to know some local fishermen, learn from them. Don't mess around in that water.. go over and your a gonner in a matter of minutes.

Red

Gentlemen,

I have been on several charters over the years and have experience on bigger freshwater. The boat is 16’ with an 85” beam and 75 HP OB. I am a VERY cautious boater and have no intention of going anywhere other than close to shore and only with reasonable weather. Having said all that, maybe this is still not a good idea. Perhaps one of you can suggest where a guy can get started with boating on the ocean? Again, any advice would be appreciated…..BTW, I get good life insurance thru my company……however…..still do not want to have to use it!..... :-)

try brentwood bay just as many fish as the west coast but flat calm lol

There's One!!!!!!!!!

I understand that it's tough-you're hauling all the way from Alberta- so it's natural for you to think about QCI.
But those 'freshwater charters' don't amount to s*** compared to a 40 knot gale roaring up Hecate Strait and whipping around Rose Spit-have you ever seen the top 3 feet ripped off a 12 foot wave because the wind is so strong-and all this happens in 20 minutes?