Nanaimo Newbie

essyoo

Looking for some gear advice for a complete beginner to the saltwater fishing scene. I've read through the last few years of area reports and as many old threads as I could find. I have a pretty good head start on how to rig it all up and a tiny bit of understanding on the local spots, but would love some advice on what your confidence, good-for-most-situations choices are for around here.

What are your go-to flashers, spoons, and hoochies for the nanaimo area for chinook and coho? I know the tackle junkie in me will eventually build up a collection, but we're starting from scratch and the selection is a little overwhelming at this point. Follow up questions would be: how do you decide what to pair together? Does tide, time of year, time of day dictate your choice much? Does the depth you're targeting influence the type of lure you put on?

Thanks!

It depends on so many things. Me personally. I use spoons and hoochies until summers time. Then I switch it up with spoons, hoochies but manly anchovies from July to October. My leader to my flasher is 30" or for hoochies. But longer for spoons and even longer for anchovies. I'll be out tomorrow and I'll probably start with a light green flasher one side and a black on the other.

Common gear out front Nanaimo includes green glow splatter back hoochies, irish cream, cookies and cream skinny G spoons and the usual anchovie set up. Go into harbour chandler and they can set you up.

Looking for some gear advice for a complete beginner to the saltwater fishing scene. I've read through the last few years of area reports and as many old threads as I could find. I have a pretty good head start on how to rig it all up and a tiny bit of understanding on the local spots, but would love some advice on what your confidence, good-for-most-situations choices are for around here.