Is prawning done for the year?

Baxter

I am brand new to prawning.

In May I finally bought traps etc. Dropped them in June. First time out, got my limit! Beginners luck?

This past weekend I dropped again. Same spot. Same bait. I got 1. One single prawn.

Curious - has the time of year just passed? (I can catch salmon all day long, but prawning is a whole new world to me).

There are a few differences, and I know they matter, but I still expected to get some:

First Time:
Date: June 29, 2024
Tide at Start: Right at Low tide, 2.2m - tide coming in for entire soak
Time: 8am-11am
Prawns: 124

Second Time:
Date: Aug 17, 2024
Tide at Start: Just after Low tide - Tide was 1.8m when traps dropped. Tide coming in for entire soak
Time: 1:00pm - 4:30pm
Prawns: 1

So tide conditions were nearly identical, but time of day was much different. Wondering if the time alone was enough to have no prawns, or if the season is essentially over at this point?

I am tracking this data so I can make solid observations over time, but after only two soaks, hard to come to any conclusions!

I could note the location, but I know everyone is hesitant to share their spots on here, so I will keep that a secret :)

Also, it is not lost on me that for the two times I got 124 and then 1 prawn, for a total of 125 - same as a one day limit. Kinda funny. Maybe the one from this weekend fell out of the trap in June and just wanted to come find his buddies.

bio mass moves around, find em first. test areas, then fish them.

Will only get better now thru the fall since the commercial plunder is over. They definitely move around. Our best production is a 2 to 4 hour soak thru a slack tide.

Will only get better now thru the fall since the commercial plunder is over. They definitely move around. Our best production is a 2 to 4 hour soak thru a slack tide.
Awesome. Sounds like it is just bad luck on my part this weekend. :)