17' Arima Sea Ranger (1987) update

chille51

Hey all, mentioned this on the boats for sale thread, but I just took possession of one that was posted there a couple weeks ago. 17' Arima Sea Ranger on a trailer, 1987, with a 90's era, well maintained 75hp Honda. No kicker. It has been pretty well maintained by the 2nd owners, with records of all work for the last 14 years. That said, it's not a new boat and there is some stuff it needs, and other stuff I want. I wouldn't call it a restore... call it an update. So figured I'd post the progress here and hopefully get some helpful advice along the way. Here's a few pics.20230612_183858.jpg

20230612_184138.jpg
20230612_184124.jpg

First on the docket is some fibreglass repairs. Going to get some estimates from the shops here in town or if anyone knows a good private guy for this kind of work in the Nanaimo area I am all ears. I have no personal experience with gelcoat repairs, and am inclined to get this initial work done by someone who does, and do my learning with the general maintenance going forward. For the keel, I intend to add a keel guard eventually so not overly concerned with a perfect colour match.

20230612_184017.jpg

Attachments

• 20230612_184054.jpg
    20230612_184054.jpg
    245.6 KB · Views: 47
After your repairs, install a keel gaurd.
best money you'll spend on saving your fibreglass.
100% already part of the plan. As a result, I'm not so concerned with colour matching in that area since the keel guard will cover it. Even considered just using Marine Tex for that spot. Other areas that will remain visible obviously looking for as good a match as I can get.