Understanding tides??

ChilliSpoons

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to salt water fishing and would like a better understanding of playing the tide game. Being more of a river fisherman I try to find comparisons to the flow of the river and the flow of the tides.

I understand that targeting certain tides when planning your day on the water is important but I'm unsure exactly how it effects "The Bite".

Is the strategy focused on where the bait will be concentrated or where the salmon will be? Obviously these are closely related.

How do tides effect the movement of salmon (slack, flood, high, low)?

Will bait concentrate on the back side of a island the same way that a fish will lay behind a rock in a river where there is a slack piece of water?

When the tide rushes through a narrow passage will it push the fish to find more sheltered water?

What about shoals and pinnacles?

When you are talking tidal movement, the best fishing is usually around low tidal movement. Where you are looking at an inlet narrows such as the Cap mouth in Vancouver, it's easy because slack tide is slack tidal movement (current) more or less.

Now, when you start talking open water, things get a bit more complicated. Slack tide is often not aligned with slack current... And I believe each area has different effects, which are generally consistent with the tides in that area. For example an area I fish is often best around 4 hours after a slack tide. I'm certainly no expert, this is just what I've observed.

Fish will stack up in behind points and passes where a back eddy is created. Same with reefs and pinnacles, anything that provides a current break can a attract baitfish and Salmon. As already mentioned depending on the area you must use the current tables, not go by the high or low tide tables for the actual slack.