Tuna Handling - To Slurry or Not to Slurry?

carpeweekend

Crew Member
Just getting ready for the Bamfield tuna derby and was looking for everyone's opinion on whether to use a slurry prior to putting your fish into the ice hold or not? We have always had a large garbage can on board where we put a mixture of saltwater and ice to bleed the fish out and get the temperature down.
The argument against this approach is that by cooling the fish before it is fully bled out, the blood clots and hinders getting all of the blood out. Also seems like you go through a lot of additional ice adding to the slurried blood bucket to keep it cool.

Looking at doing a thorough job bleeding out the fish just using saltwater to help and then straight into the ice hold?

Thoughts, comments, opinions?

I’m not an expert by any means but agree with trophy fish !! Looking at a lot of videos this last month and all suggest bleeding for 15 min then an ice slurry bath to dramatically drop temperature evenly. Then ice !!! Good luck !

We went out with Johnny from Tonquin Charters and I was surprised to see he didn't use a slurry. But that's only because I've always seen it done. He cut the gills and left them in the engine well for 10 minutes and then into the soft bags with a scoop of ice on top. It was way less of ordeal than I had pictured it based on the videos. All of the fish was delicious and kept extremely well. I think the processing and freezing afterwards is the more critical thing to get right. We had it all done professionally in Tofino.