Trout Fishing in Quamichan Lake

Nick J

Hey everyone,

I am new to the forum and after looking around a little bit I thought i might ask a few questions. I am relatively new to fishing and in particular freshwater fishing. Quamichan is home to many good sized rainbow trout in the 20+ inch range and during the winter I had great success trolling a small spoon on the surface. However, as the water temperature increases the fish move into the cooler deeper waters of the lake I don't know how to fish these areas. For some of the more experienced anglers on this forum this may seem like a very simple questions but I hope you will be willing to share your techniques for these deeper trout.

Usually in winter time the trout are down on the bottom feeding on whatever aren't they? They are sluggish and not that fast because the water is cold. I always heard you had to go pretty slow in winter for trolling because they don't have the energy/metabolism to chase much.

As the water warms up in spring they start to come up because the bug hatches/fry hatches are on for surface/river mouth food and they can move around faster because the water is warmer and easier on their metabolism.

When the water gets TOO warm (summer months) they head back down in the daytime to a depth where they are comfortable at. But they will still take jaunts into very warm water for a spell when they are hungry.

Quamichan may have it's own seasonal pecularities.....I've never fished it.

Cutts may be a bit of a different ballgame than Rainbows too.

Google "How To Fish Chironimids" for early,early season trout. All fly fishermen know what a chironimid is.

I've also read in many posts that,on some lakes, if you want the big fish-------go early in the morning (like daybreak). The big ones feed early and go back to bed after that LOL.

Cutts will hit "stillbait" but many a time they prefer a faster action spoon or spinner.

Last edited by a moderator: