Stacking lines with braid downrigger line

trendsetter

So I am new to braid; I just re-spooled my downrigger with 250lb braid last night. I find it's much easier to work with than the old steel cable.

However, when I stack my rods fishing for sockeye I'm finding that the clips are moving a few feet on the line. For example I always set my bottom line 6' above the cannon ball/dummy flashers and when I got to retrieve the line I find it's now more like 12' or 15' above the cannon ball....

Does that happen to anyone else? Do I need a different type of release clip for braid?

Thanks

Thanks Pippen, I've seen those in tackle shops but never tried them out. I'll pick some up next time.

Holmes, good idea. That would've save me a few clips this summer.

no movement

I've been running braid now for 2 seasons. I don't remember the type/strength, but probably the heavier braid.
I've never had a clip move.
I use the red beads to set the stops, and the clip is always in the same place. I have had the red clips break from time to time.

I haven't had a clip pop off with braid either. I also use that rope/puller thing which is great and doesn't make the clips pop off either. Used to be good for losing a clip or two every few outings with the cable.

Just lost my first balls to braid fatigue/abrasion a couple of weeks ago, at the end of the second season now. Should've cut off the last 10-15 feet at the beginning of this season (or from time to time). Never looked at it until I lost the ball, then I found it worn (most likely from dragging bottom) for the last 15 feet or so.

***The deepest I go on the downrigger is maybe 140ft.

Use the red braid stopper bead things. Double em up if you like. That's what I do. Beads stay on line all the time at 6' off ball then at 30' up from that.

Bend the metal end of the clip that pinches the line out a bit and it shouldn't slip on the braid anymore.