Salmon Fry at Ten Mile Point

John Ingram

Fishing Ten Mile Point for the last week or so I have seen wave after wave of small salmon fry enter the bay during
the slack tide. I have hit a couple of these little fry and they look like small Coho.
Anyone know what these small ones are?? and possibly where they originated.
Judging from the size of the mass I sure hope this bodes well for a future fishery somewhere.

Thanks
John I.

Interesting. I'm no expert but chinook and coho would be bigger than just fry at this point that far from any significant stream. Chum fry (smolts) maybe?

SVIAC recently released their pen program smolts. Possibly part of that. The tides do wonderful things. Ya just never know.

It's pretty hard to tell w/o capturing a couple of them to look - and could even be juvie herring. But this is how they react:

Pinks & chums are the smallest and tend to hug the shorelines and shallow bays in reasonably large schools. They are fairly easy to herd - and those surf scoters (often seen in a line) are especially are adept at herding them into shallow water to capture them.

Coho are slightly larger - but don't form as large of schools and tend to hang just behind the kelp.

Chinook are slightly larger and seem to like high current areas.

Sockeye have already been trained in the lakes to avoid predators and will dive immediately if you approach them by boat - and are more in the middle of the channels.

Juvie herring wiggle more in their swimming than juvie salmon and flash alot as they are eating plankton. Often if predators like rockfish are after them - their schools ripple as they try to avoid being eaten.

How small were they? Were they barred?