New Advice on Rod Building.

• Thread starter Thread starter mthornton
  • Start date Start date
M

mthornton

I am building my first baitcasting rod. I am having a very difficult time finding the backbone of the rod (or splining the rod). Does anyone have any easy methods to find this? Also if that is found, do the eyes go on top with the backbone on the bottom or what. I have heard many ways to spline the rod but I cant seem to get it properly and I want to build the rod properly. Any info appreciated
Thanks in advance!:)

I've only built 3 rods, so I'm no expert. You know how if you don't get your chicken in the centre of the rotisserie and it stalls and then thumps over, well it's kind of like that.
While standing, gently press the tip against the carpet and twist the wider end until the section centres itself. Mark it with a white pencil, then do it a few more times to be sure. I've read it doesn't matter whether the guides go on top or underneath as long as they don't go on the side. Don't crank your thread for the guides too tight as this is where the rod could break when you hook the big one or snag up in a river.
I made a gizmo to attach the sections to my barby rotisserrie motor to spin them while the thread goop was curing. Every time you build a rod it gets easier and more professional looking. It's also satisfying to catch fish with something you built yourself, kind of like fly-tying in that way.

When I find the spine of the rod I take the tip section and put the ferrule end on a hard surface then put pressure in the center of the blank so that it is shaped like a banana then rotate it until you feel a "jump" or "kick". Mark this spot by putting some masking tape on the blank at the ferrule end so you have somthing to mark on with a pencil.(Do the same for the butt section and then align the spine marks in the final assembly). I like to align the guides on the backside of where I have marked the spine of the blank for a baitcasting rod.