Fiberglass Patching and Painting

• Thread starter Thread starter kippersnack
  • Start date Start date
K

kippersnack

[?]I have a fiberglass boat that has a couple of small damaged areas on it that I would like to repair.Are there repair kits available for smaller repairs like this and what do I need,if anything,to seal the patchwork once the repair is done?

I did this for a living but got out because I HATE fiberglass. Where ever you are repairing you must use the "Rule of 20" to make as stuctral as new. This means if the repair is an inch deep then you must taper the surounding area 20" wide and kinda peel it back like an onion with a grinder. Then you can see what is used interms of material. Cut out you matting or roving to size and laminate from there. Don't just patch it over and hope for the best, i have seen it result in leaking, then sinking then......well you know.

Thankyou for the tips. Kipper
quote:Originally posted by Maxpower

I did this for a living but got out because I HATE fiberglass. Where ever you are repairing you must use the "Rule of 20" to make as stuctral as new. This means if the repair is an inch deep then you must taper the surounding area 20" wide and kinda peel it back like an onion with a grinder. Then you can see what is used interms of material. Cut out you matting or roving to size and laminate from there. Don't just patch it over and hope for the best, i have seen it result in leaking, then sinking then......well you know.