Used outboard inspection...

hambone

I'll be getting a compression test done soon and I want to make sure that I fully understand the results. Good compression means that all the pressure readings are within 10-15% span? What about the pressure average, is there a min/max that the average reading should fall within? and if so, is this something you would find in the owners manual?

What are some of the most important things to check in general when inspecting a used outboard. The bigger the checklist I have the better.

I'm looking at a 2004 Honda 135EFI (308 hours)... feel free to add any comments about this motor if youve had experience running one. So far my internet searches havent raised any alarms..

Thanks for any input.

I'm not a mechanic but would be looking for 200-225 per cylinder with a pressure drop variable
of no more than 5% per cylinder

I would guess...wait no I wouldn't... I'd get a certified marine mech to look it over.. 100 bucks now could save you thousands down the road.

I would guess...wait no I wouldn't... I'd get a certified marine mech to look it over.. 100 bucks now could save you thousands down the road.

Yep, the motor is at a dealership, so I will definitely be getting it checked by a mechanic. But I still need to be able to understand the numbers.

pull the leg oil top plug to see if milky oil or clean oil

I may be wrong and might learn something but I thought you pulled the bottom plug-water should separate to the bottom-also if milky you see it -sometimes when selling guys just give a little top=up of clean oil. The bottom plug also has the magnet to see metal particles or chunks. _NO?