Transducer angle advice

Knudy

I am a bit of a newbie to this, so seeking some advice. I have mounted my transducer ( 50/200 Lowarance on Elite 5 ) and I am picking up the lines which I am fishing at the front of the screen. Should my angle be adjusted on the mount to point forward more?

Thank you in advance for the help.

Transducer NEEDS to point straight down; parallel to the waterline on the hull.

Did you follow the install instructions?

Transducer NEEDS to point straight down; parallel to the waterline on the hull.

Did you follow the install instructions?
Yep, followed them and it points down. Just wondering about how much the angle is changed when the boat is loaded and in the water (small boat). I get bottom structure and contour, but thought that maybe it was pointing to far back, as I pick up the cannonballs or flashers in the screen.

I would suggest slightly pointed up in the front as well as even with the hull. That allows the water to flow over the transducer, reading the bottom as you go. If it is points down or back, it allows the water flow to cavitate, scrambling your reading somewhat. It's not to hard to adjust as you go if you can safely reach it. Good Luck.;) eman

There should be no lines showing if you mounted your transducer correctly. your downrigger cables should be at a 45 degree angle off when trolling so they will be outside the beam.

There should be no lines showing if you mounted your transducer correctly. your downrigger cables should be at a 45 degree angle off when trolling so they will be outside the beam.
As fishin_magician suggested....cables at a 45 degree angle. You may be traveling too slow causing canon balls/cables to show up.

As fishin_magician suggested....cables at a 45 degree angle. You may be traveling too slow causing canon balls/cables to show up.