The best boat

• Thread starter Thread starter tailslap
  • Start date Start date
T

tailslap

Hello I am fairly new to boating/fishing and am looking to buy a boat for my family to fish in. Safety is my number one priority. My question is what would you buy? Fiberglass or aluminum? Why are Grady Whites so expensive and are they worth it? Why are trophies so much less and are they worth it?
Thanks in advance
TS

Like anything, you get exactly what you pay for, and nothing more. Grady White boats are overbuilt fishing machines, that do tend to have some flaws but are considered the pinnacle of a production fishing machine. It's probably unlikeley that you will jump on one for your first boat, a lot of guys are bringing up crap from the states, so look out. Get a hull survey, and just be prepared how much work a boat that sells new for over 100 grand will take once it ages to the point where someone looking for a starter boat will buy it.

A Trophy, especially a newer one, is your standard walk-around fishing boat, and the ones I have seen of late are not bad for the price (Say 1990 and up). Aluminium is practicly indesctructible, but you usually sacrifice ride quality. Besides, Aluminium is expensive, if you have to ask how much, you usually are not prepared to spend what it takes to buy one.

Unless you are looking for something small, say under 20 feet, then there are only so many ways you can build a boat for ride.

For a family, I would suggest staying away from a walk around "fishing machine" as there is very little room to put the wife and kids in. Besides, what passes for a mini kitchenette/head/sleeping area is usually pretty small and spartan in an entry level walk around "fishing machine".