Salmon Eggs...what happens after spawning?

Finished Business

What happens when the water levels in the rivers drop rapidly after the main spawn, and (what I assume) thousands of eggs are left beached?

I know the eggs typically hatch in the spring, but during the winter do the just sit frozen, in dry sand, until the water comes back up? Maybe the answer is a simple one but this is a bit of a mystery to me.

Do the eggs have to remain in the water to prove successful in hatching? or is it possible these beached eggs will survive to hatch as well?

-FB

I'm no expert but the gravel extract on the Fraser one year d-watered a section of the spawning beds and I recall them saying that it was lethal. Of course the company gave the "me bad" and all was forgiven. Flood control "wink wink" was way more important then our fish.

GLG

The eggs dry out, they are dead. But, so long as the gravel is moist, and the water not stagnant, they should be fine.

Kevin has it right. In fact there is a salmon incubation system that just mists or floods the eggs on a programmed cycle. The water drains out and the eggs sit in air until the next flood cycle. Its called (suprise!) a moist incubation system. Not sure of they still use it, but Oyster River used to do a lot of eggs this way.

I came across moving gravel one day on the river. Hundreds of birds eating thousands of small fish. These fish were as deep as 3 inches in the sandy gravel with out egg sacks any more. They must have hatched and lived in the moist sands. Rob and myself were unsure if there was anything we could do. As unless the river came up a foot I was sure these guys would die. I tossed a couple of handfulls of them in the river and some of them just laid there others were enjoying life in the big water. We moved on a kept fishing.

Owen, if you get a chance, get hold of this short movie "The Man Who Digs for Fish" http://www.onf-nfb.gc.ca/eng/collection/film/?id=12998