OT: The Old Boys Club Git 'Er Done

IronNoggin

The stage was initially set for this hunt just over 49 years ago.
Back then I was a sailing and canoe instructor for the big summer camp on Wakah Lake in Saskatchewan.

One late afternoon I noted a couple moving in to the cabin closest to our Camp, separated by a narrow body of water. What caught my interest was the fact their daughter was the prettiest Gal I had ever seen. I also noticed I was far from alone in that assessment.

Just after dark, one of the counsellors came to me and asked if I had any idea where the three missing lads might be. Yep. Waded the creek, and sure as shooting there were the three of them juggling for the attentions of that beautiful gal over a nice little fire.

Gentz, I hate to break this up but if you ain’t in your bunks within 15 minutes, there is talk of a call to your folks and possibly punting you from this year’s program. The looks I got were pure murder, but they unwillingly complied.

One of the three approached me the next day suggesting what I had done was quite “ballsy”. Not really I explained, simply had to be done. That fellow (who has chosen to remain nameless) was only three months behind me in age (16). And that was the start of a tight and lifelong friendship. We had a LOT in common, cars, ladies, guns, hunting & fishing and more.

Jump forward to this spring when I asked about moose in his area. Damn tough odds on the draw, and perhaps the hardest place to hunt them in I know was his response. Sounds like that’s right up our alley was mine.

After the draws were announced I called to see what he got. Nada for him, his extended family and his neighbors. Going to miss my moose he stated. Nope, you’re not sez I, rumor has it a good buddy of yours drew the tag and is offering up half a moose for your help if we manage to pull this off! Pause, then GAME ON!!