Newbie Here (with a couple questions)

stevo911

Hey guys,
My buddy and I have decided we want to give fishing a shot.
I've done some reading here and we made our first attempt on Monday off the Ogden Pt breakwater, though all we caught was a good laugh from some guys getting drenched from the pilot boat wake.
All in all it was a success though, I left with the same amount of tackle I showed up with (was running a single hook to avoid snags). My buddy wasn't quite so fortunate, and donated a couple buzz bombs to the kelp.

We made an attempt at Prospect off the rocks with powerbait last night, again no luck, though my buddy caught someone elses weight/lure off the bottom, so we left with more tackle than we showed up with (another success I would say).

We're taking a stab at the Sidney Pier tonight, (going to drop some crab traps).
I've heard there are sole out that way, as well as greenlings and dogfish. I'm wondering what sort of fish we should target/what would provide us with the most likely success (I've been reading up and actually want to try dogfish)?
Any suggestions on lures/bait? I have frozen squid, big & small spoons, and some rubber soft baits (look like little grubs, worms, roe clusters) but am not opposed to getting other gear.

For now we'd just be stoked to get something on our rod, but anything edible would be even better!

Another question - When we were at Ogden Pt on Monday we got there around 8, and fished until dusk. As we were leaving there were quite a few people showing up (all older asian people with little white buckets in hand) and fishing off the top. They seemed to be catching quite a bit of something small (didn't get a good look, it was dark and I was hungry). I was curious if someone knew what they were fishing/if these guys knew something we didn't, or if what they were fishing for was even legal/legit? (A couple of the guys were giving us pretty shady looks)

Last edited by a moderator: