Help for a place to start ?

UnsaltedChuck

Hello Fellow Anglers

My Family and I are travelling to the Saratoga Beach area on east Vancouver Island on May 17th for a week of sight seeing and beachcombing (we are travelling from Edmonton , Please don't hold that against us LOL ) I am a Total noob when it comes to crab fishing and the kids would like to try ... I have a row boat and some Danielson traps and have read all the regulations surrounding the legal harvest ( I've pretty much got the regulations memorized ) ..
Are there any areas that a more seasoned vet would care to share for me to start looking for dungeness crab within rowing distance of shore ???
I'm not after a hundred ... Just a few to eat over the 3 -4 days that we are there... NOTE We are willing to drive north or south up to a couple hours on the island if it means we will have a better chance ... I understand if spots are best left unsaid on a public forum ... If you would prefer to private message that is ok too .. Any help at all would be appreciated ..

Thanks in advance
Chuck

Last edited:
Funny, but now that you mention it, I've spent a fair bit of time coho fishing off Saratoga area beaches and can't recall seeing many, if any Dungenous crabs there. There are sandy spots but for the most part the substrate is gravel. Hopefully someone will PM you with a local spot as posting on the internet gets spots wiped out. A few softer beaches closer to Willow pt. me thinks.

Hello. Just north or Saratoga beach theres a spot called oyster bay, its maybe a 10 min drive. Lots of times you can walk the trap out on low tide and pick it back up on the next low tide. A rowboat would give you a good chance there. Use fresh bait, chicken or fish heads/carcass.
Good luck
Kevin
Www.islandlifefishingcharters.com

Last edited: