Freshwater fishing from shore near Victoria

DanTheMan

Hello everyone,

I am new to fishing on the Island but I have done a lot of salmon fishing in the Kitimat river on the north coast.

I am looking to get into fishing on the Island but am not really sure where to go. I live in Victoria so am looking at things relatively close to the city. Based on the maps that I have looked at the Sooke River and the Cowichan River are looking to be my best bets.

Is there anything worth fishing for in either of these rivers? I don’t have a boat and like to fish from shore so if anyone could point me in a general direction it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Dan

Hey Dan, there are loads of great lakes on Southern Vancouver Island that you can fish very successfully from shore. Have a search through the Freshwater Forums as this topic has been talked about quite a bit. If you are focusing more on river fishing make sure you really do your research on restrictions / time of year / species etc gear type for each river as they all seem to have different rules. Best of luck fishing!

Thanks for the reply.

After looking at the regs I think I am going to have to learn to flyfish to get into a lot of waters around here. I picked up a back roads mapbook yesterday so I think I'll check out a bunch of the lakes around and see what I can come up with.

Dan

Yeah the river guys are tight lipped here, public/open posting info usually turns overly dramatic pretty quick but if you're willing to give lake fishing a shot you'll get lot's of help/info here. No drama.

There is a fishing dock at Elk Lake, most guys are using powerbait floating eggs off of the bottom or casting bass lures, fishing is relatively slow there.