Epic drop off

A related article in my opinion

I majored in hatchery tech at the UW and one thing I remember learning is the law of diminishing returns with hatchery reared fish. As the hatchery program matures you have to pump out more and more fish to get the same returns you got when the program first began. Sounds like that’s happening with the global supply of pink salmon (though yes, it was an even year…..but still)

The head-scratcher for me, though, is people like to point the finger at poor high-seas survival and lack of forage fish (in the case of chinook numbers being so far down)

Meanwhile, have you been tracking the Tyee test results for Skeena steelhead?

Last year it was projected that the TOTAL return (prior to in-river gill-netting and predation and mortality from C&R ) was approx. 11,000 fish (down from the good-old years of 23,000 - 30,000 fish)

This year, the projected return (as of today) is 34,000 fish (!!) tracking to be one of the top best returns since the Tyee test fishery began

I’m guessing the biologists will have difficulty explaining this anomaly.

Last edited:

many of these fish are from the 2020 brood and that was " the 2020 commercial salmon harvest of 116.8 million fish is the thirteenth lowest on record"

Year20202024
CHINOOK 256,810 217,000
SOCKEYE 46,121,977 40,700,000
COHO 2,330,271 606,000
PINK 59,426,679 32,500,000
CHUM 8,659,258 13,900,000

Last edited:
That’s a good point but that doesn’t explain the drop in size. I heard a lot of the Bristol Bay sockeye were so small they swam right through the net

The predictions were that Global warming and climate change would benefit sockeye (increased temps = increased plankton and euphausiid production) Those predictions didn’t include the dramatically skewed sizing of 3 pound fish…..

That’s a good point but that doesn’t explain the drop in size. I heard a lot of the Bristol Bay sockeye were so small they swam right through the net