Catching my first fish at Garry Point

numeric13579

It's my first time fishing. At a recent camping trip, a buddy introduced me to fishing and I wanted to try it out. So I bought a 6ft fishing rod, 6lb test line, hooks, weights, a bobber.

I'm in Richmond, so I went to Garry Point where I understand Northern Pikeminnow lurk, and I spent my evening at one of the crescent beaches casting into the middle and beside the rocks. I cast by simply whipping the line out there. I tried using a spoon and tried using bait. I tried leaving the bait out there for a while. I tried reeling in the spoon slowly. Left empty handed.

I'll try again another weekend but before I go, I'd like some advice. My goal is to simply catch my first fish, any species. That said:
  • Where is a good place in Garry Point or elsewhere in Richmond to try to catch something?
  • What time is good? I've heard the two hours surrounding high tide.
  • How should I be setting up my rig? Bait or lure?
  • How long should I expect to be fishing, if I do it right, before my first catch?
  • Any other guidance?
Thanks for suggestions.

Last edited:
It's my first time fishing. At a recent camping trip, a buddy introduced me to fishing and I wanted to try it out. So I bought a 6ft fishing rod, 6lb test line, hooks, weights, a bobber.

I'm in Richmond, so I went to Garry Point where I understand Northern Pikeminnow lurk, and I spent my evening at one of the crescent beaches casting into the middle and beside the rocks. I cast by simply whipping the line out there. I tried using a spoon and tried using bait. I tried leaving the bait out there for a while. I tried reeling in the spoon slowly. Left empty handed.

I'll try again another weekend but before I go, I'd like some advice. My goal is to simply catch my first fish, any species. That said:
  • Where is a good place in Garry Point or elsewhere in Richmond to try to catch something?
  • What time is good? I've heard the two hours surrounding high tide.