Boat survey for insurance

sudsy

I am looking at insuring my boat this year as i plan on mooring it anually, just wondering if anyone can recommend a marine surveyor? Im new to boat insurance and have read a few threads on the topic, Any advice is greatly appreciated!!!

I used Capt. Tony --www.boatsurvey.bc.ca ------reasonable price --good service---and he gave me some pointers about using my radar

I have used Capt.Lyle Wilson ,@ Excalibur Marine Surveyors. He lives in Duncan but is down here lots(Victoria). Was good to deal with and reasonable. 1-866-877-9377

I have been fixing up and fishing various boats in the past 10 years or so. In July 2012 I needed to insure my latest boat, I never had time to get a survey done so I asked my insurance broker for an insurer that didn't require a survey. After 11 calls my broker sent me to Beacon Insurance. I just had to send pictures with discription of boat - price was competative. Here's a link to company based in interior.
http://www.beacon724.com/

thanks alot to everyones help so far, i am definetly going to check out beacon insurance.... After calling around and getting some price quotes im scheduled to get a survey done on Saturday....I decided to go with Meadows Marine Surveyors located in Sydney. They are going to do it for $155 plus HST if i bring the boat to them, otherwise it would have been $265 for them to come to my house and do the survey in my driveway. I will post back on saturday and let everyone know how it went, but from talking on the phone with Lachlan he seems like a good guy, gave me lots of information on the survey explaining all the things they would be checking for.

i HAVE AN aLUMN BOAT AND FEEL THAT INSTEAD OF A mARINE SURVEY (THERE ARE PRESENTLY NO GAPING HOLES IN THE HULL) sorry about the caps! doh! I think a qualifyed personal property appraiser would be money better spent...what are your thoughts given the fact a marine surveyor does not test electrical or mechanical equipment?