Best Battery for Boat

Hey All,
I'm totally new in boating and just got my first boat. It's 18.5' Campion with 90 hp outboard Mercury. I need to get the new battery and just wonder if you guys can give me some ideas about the best brand and model for me.
Thanks

deep cycle marine,, there are only a few actual battery companies,, most just carry a different label...

Try these. http://www.trojanbattery.com/tools/dealers.aspx

Trojan are considered to be one of the best, but would not fit into my battery bays. I went with another brand that are working great after 3 seasons. Just can't recall the brand name but the sales guy said they were just as good. I got them at:

Discount Battery Warehouse

11B Cliff St, Nanaimo, BC V9R 5E6
Get directions
250-753-7050

My bros a mechanic and tell's me to just to buy Kirkland. Which is Costco deep cycles .I have used them as long as I can remember. There cheap and last a long time. There's probably better brand but for much more bucks.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have been using the Kirkland Deep Cycle batteries for years and have had no problems, but I maintain them in the off season.

Kirkland deep cycles work for me as well. I get 4 years min. On a set, the last set lasted 5 years, but don't take chances. I believe they are built by Johnson Controls, just private branded for Costco.
Stosh

Crazy as it sounds, I got 10 years out of a Canadian Tire Nautilus battery. Whichever brand you get, you need to do a little bit of basic upkeep to maintain them.

Dave

Hey All,
I'm totally new in boating and just got my first boat. It's 18.5' Campion with 90 hp outboard Mercury. I need to get the new battery and just wonder if you guys can give me some ideas about the best brand and model for me.
Thanks

For that boat I would get the Kirkland group 27 combo deep cycle and starting battery from Costco. That's what I use in my runabouts and they've been very good. Just over a hundred bucks I think.